Landy-Pilot

GasGas or Beta

Hi Guys,

I’ve been contemplating a purchase of a beta xtrainer for a while, I’d heard a little about the gassers then never investigated further.

Various things have been holding me back on a xtrainer mainly regarding the oil injection and capacitors corroding etc. I know the injection can be removed but still was nagging at me. Also the suspension didn’t sound very good but I’m used to that on my crf!

I’m new to 2 strokes btw other than my stihl chainsaws!

From what info I’ve managed to find in the last few days these gassers look really good and there doesn’t seem to be much of, if any issues with the ec300.

I know they are different animals in terms of seat height and gasser having better suspension but other than that would me as a newbie to 2 stroke enjoy a ec300? Seems from what I’ve seen they can lug and stuff?

Most of my riding would be done at slower speed, we have to share our very limited number of trails over here (UK) with a lot of other users.

In terms of maintenance/piston replacement would the gasser be similar to what I’ve seen for xtrainers? As noted above I’m a calm trail rider not a racer. Though with such a bike I may consider some enduro practice days.

The bike over here would be road registered from the dealer which is necessary for connecting our limited trails.

Also I can’t seem to see any info as to whether these are pre mix or injection? I presume premix? and what ratio would this be out of interest?

Thanks in advance guys for helping a potential newbie to the 2 stroke crowd.

Landy,

The EC300 was my intro to 2 strokes. The adjustable power valve let me kind of sneak up on a real 300 with out getting bit.