Sign in to follow this  

2014 KX 250F idling issue

I have a 2014 KX 250F I just changed out the valve spring and shimmed them. When starting the bike runs but doesn't idle it quickly dies. The bike only runs with the hot start on. I am new to the efi world and don't know what is wrong. Any suggestions on what to do. 

If it ran fine previous to the valvetrain work, I'd double (triple) check the cam chain timing.

If it ran fine previous to the valvetrain work, I'd double (triple) check the cam chain timing.
I marked the timing chain and the cam to make sure it didn't change. I also put new valve oil seals on would that make a difference?

Curious why you replaced the exhaust springs?

assuming all the valves are 'shimmed' to the manual's tolerances as well.

Edited by mlatour

In replacing the valve springs with the engine assembled,

what method did you use to prevent the valves from dropping inside while the keepers were removed?     

Compressed air, string fed thru the spark plug hole etc.

Edited by mlatour

Curious why you replaced the exhaust springs?

assuming the exhaust valves are 'shimmed' to the manual's tolerances as well.

I had to replace the intake because one broke both springs and the other broke one spring broke and decided to do all of them and the seals when I had it all apart off the bike

Okay just to make things clear, 

the top end was fully disassembled

you replaced broken valve springs (and the seals)

I'm not familiar with this type of failure but perhaps numerous broken valve springs would 

require deeper investigation as to why they failed in the first place before simply replacing them.

Edited by mlatour
  • Like 1

Okay just to make things clear, 
the top end was fully disassembled
you replaced broken valve springs (and the seals)

I'm not familiar with this type of failure but perhaps numerous broken valve springs would 
require deeper investigation as to why they failed in the first place before simply replacing them.