Sign in to follow this  

XR650R ROUGH IDLE

Hey guys i'm new to my XR but have had many bikes over the years. I have a 2006 XR650R that has been uncorked, baja kit, stator upgrade, XR400 CDI etc.

My problem is:

It will fire right up and idle perfect, throttle blips and calms right down sounds and feels good. Once i'm riding for a few minutes the idle becomes erratic, hangs and then falls right off and the bike stalls. it'll fire back up but the idle hangs. I can up the idle speed but then it's way too high. I've checked for intake leaks and none are present. I did read about a vacuum port to the left of the manifold but I couldn't locate it.

Couple questions:

My battery is toast- would this cause this issue?

Could the coil be cutting out once the bike is warmed up? Any quick easy way to test if the coil is bad?

Would a bad CDI cause this behavior?

thanks for any replies.

First thing to do realistically is get a baseline like.

A: Is the carb clean/any blocked passages. (If not I recommend simple green)

B: Are there any vaccum/intake/exhaust leaks. Check vac hoses and make sure they're routed correctly.

C Does gas run freely to the carb when you pull the line and turn the petcock.

D I'm sure you checked but is the filter clogged/ extremely dirty.

E: Yeah check that ventline on the tank and the side of the carb.

F: Read the plug.

G: After it dies have a spare plug ready, pull the boot, insert new plug, ground on engine, and see if you get spark.

As far as testing the coil you can test resistance somehow (youtube) if not they're like $12 on ebay and you'll have a spare. Don't think it's the battery and I've had no experience with bad CDI's also yours is different. Also an erradic idle makes me think its lean, especially since you said it hangs.

Edited by Timm91

I would check the pilot jet and ACV on the side of the carb, sounds like it going lean. Battery has no affect, they didn;t come with one on this model.