Sign in to follow this  

2018 KX250F shutting down

Hello guys,

I'm a beginner rider, I don't rip my bike hard.

My bike fires with 2 kicks when cold. It can idle for 2 minutes and it will shut down by itself and then It won't let me kick start without choke. After riding for a couple min' it wants to shut down when reaching low rpm and won't respond to opening throttle and have a delay, then it will respond and give power. But something is definitely weird.

I gave a friend a small test lap and he only felt it once.

When the bike is hot, it will start with 1 small kick, when I put into 1st while clutch is pulled all the way in, I rev it a little and it shuts down without releasing the clutch. I can ride it if I throw the clutch a bit and rev higher, but I never had this issue before.

also while riding, it randomly wants to shut down, like it's choking or not getting fuel (usually happens in low rpm). If I rev it, it goes back to normal. I've had this happen even in 5th gear going downhill without throttle, getting to the end of the downhill with low rpm the bike losing power and won't respond to throttle opening and shutting down. I can kick it and continue to ride but it will happen again randomly.

The first time I noticed something is wrong was when I went wide open in 5th gear and felt for a split second like there was a cut in fuel / air and then it kept going as normal. But since that day, it's been worse each time. Not sure what's the problem.

It's a brand new 2018 KX250F from the dealer. I've done +30 hour. Never done valve clearance yet. Will do next week, but don't know if it's related, because the bike starts with first kick, but acting weird when riding.

Edited by Titan777

It is always good to check all the electrical couplers for water or dirt and use only suitable contact spray (never use WD40 or similar).

4 hours ago, phatsmall said: