hi, im weighing up between a ktm 450 sxf and a ktm 250 sx, im a veteran rider been riding for 20 + years and was wondering what bike would have more low to mid power?

Archie

hi, im weighing up between a ktm 450 sxf and a ktm 250 sx, im a veteran rider been riding for 20 + years and was wondering what bike would have more low to mid power?

Archie

Well more low to mid.... or simply power everywhere... the 450 is a no brained. Consider the 250SX if you simply prefer a 2 strike. As a race bike I think the 2 stroke is at a disadvantage pitted against a modern 57hp 450 with riders being equal. But there are guys that simply like the slightly lighter feel of the 250 smoker.

Soooo..... I gotta tell you, as an Vet owner of a 2017 Husqvarna FC350....you really really need to seriously consider the 350 in this conversation! I will call it the absolute perfect blend of the 250 smoker light feel and phenomenal handling and big boy power (53hp)! You ride it a bit more like the smaller displacement bikes in that you really want to keep it humming. But honestly....it’s the best MX bike I have ever owned! Period! I have had many 450’s and love them for what they are, but fun factor..... handling/power is the absolute perfect blend IMHO. It’s only 2lbs lighter than a 450 but feels 20lbs lighter! If can be lugged if you want to like a 450, but it’s happier with higher rpm. It makes power higher in the curve.... more like a 250f. But it has torque and power. Def more than a 250 smoker for sure. Yet it does seem “kinda” similiar. I would say the 350 is the closest to riding a 2-stroke that you can get without actually riding one! Lol! It’s “kinda” that style of riding. ... kinda! Think super strong 250f with more everywhere! Love it!

PaulP
  • Like 2

5 minutes ago, PaulP said: