nitrohuffer

Cold weather pudding clutch

My '02 300 has fresh mineral oil, and nice clean pushrod.  When it's cold if I pull in the clutch lever and let it go, it takes almost three seconds to return out.   Nature of the beast, or would rebuilding the slave or master help?

I am new to KTM and hydraulic clutches however that does not sound normal.  How cold? My clutch does not do that in the 40s. Have not tried it any colder.

29 minutes ago, Grant31781 said:

I am new to KTM and hydraulic clutches however that does not sound normal.  How cold? My clutch does not do that in the 40s. Have not tried it any colder.

Thanks for the info, i'm new to them too.  It does it in the mid 40's.  Did a Harescramble in November where the bike was outside all night.  It got better when it warmed up.  Trying to figure out if it's an indication that something is not right.   

Yeah that is not right. My clutch lever pops right out if I let go in the 40s. It sound like the piston is sticking in the slave or master.  I think the clutch springs push the slave out when you let go. Is your fluid level correct? Too much or too little might cause this?

38 minutes ago, Grant31781 said:

Yeah that is not right. My clutch lever pops right out if I let go in the 40s. It sound like the piston is sticking in the slave or master.  I think the clutch springs push the slave out when you let go. Is your fluid level correct? Too much or too little might cause this?

Fluid level is ok.  I bled it in sept.

There's more to what can effect that. The clutch pack itself and the type/weight oil your running in the crankcase would also have an effect.

I haven't looked at the operating temp specs between mineral oil and DOT4, but is your system "mineral oil only" ?