XR80 points? NO Spark

IMG_1976.JPGIMG_1977.JPGIMG_1978.JPGIMG_1979.JPG

I’ve never worked on a points motor before I need to know what I need to do. Any experienced mechanics on here that could help me. Ps I realize the one point arm is broke

Looks like she's been left with water inside there...poor 'ol girl. Replace those points with new, set the gap at about 35thou and timing and you will be good to go. If you have no pilot light to check timing, we used to use a cigarette paper back in the day. While you're there, check those stator windings

• Like 1

Looks like she's been left with water inside there...poor 'ol girl. Replace those points with new, set the gap at about 35thou and timing and you will be good to go. If you have no pilot light to check timing, we used to use a cigarette paper back in the day. While you're there, check those stator windings

Okay thank you Champ

And this, i don't know - let's call it timing adjuster/advance shell/sleeve on the crank, belongs to the flywheel advance mechanism.

Rust never sleeps B)

P1010593.JPG

P1010594.JPG

Edited by Alexxxx

And this, i don't know - let's call it timing adjuster/advance shell/sleeve on the crank, belongs to the flywheel advance mechanism.
Rust never sleeps B)
P1010593.JPG.c0891617dc2eca9705e9d2558127c464.JPG
P1010594.JPG.65014fdaeb8edb43be8c23e978266c21.JPG

Yeah it’s still on the crank

Check out my post about using a transistor timing module and eliminating the points, condenser, and spark advancer. The part of the contact remaining looks burnt which could mean missing condenser (posssibly bad but I doubt it). Kinda seems like someone mangled the points with a screwdriver through the hole in the flywheel now that I look at your pics. Not sure how the spark advancer sleeve stayed on the crank but you’ll need to fix that, too.

• Like 1