Hatchers

2018 450f vs 2019 450f (help me decide)

- I can get the 18’ at $900 less

- I’m not sure what real world differences are between the two bikes

- I’m a slow vet rider, 6-4” 225lbs

Thx in advance

10% difference in price.  Get the 19, you will get that back when you sell it.  Plus you get the better front end!

The 19 received increased rigidity in the front axel collars, the front wheel surface area increased at the collar and axel bracket and a new shape on the rear wheel collars.  The pros have given these minor changes great reviews.  No amount of shimming is going to make an 18 handle like a 19.  Will the 18 be good enough for you?  Yes!  But for a 10% price difference i would have bought the 19.  Just answering you're original question honestly.

46 minutes ago, toten said:

Yes. They can easily be swapped.

That's good to know.  Not so sure the axel brackets (lugs) can be easily swapped.  Any insight on this?

Edited by HORSEPOWER35

2 hours ago, HORSEPOWER35 said:

That's good to know.  Not so sure the axel brackets (lugs) can be easily swapped.  Any insight on this?

they are replaceable but you cant just buy the lugs from yamaha you would have to buy the lower fork tubes. Maybe you could get them from KYB not sure.

How/why is the new front wheel spacer and axle mount better this year? Or is Yamaha just catching on to the marketing of ktm and changing wheel spacers every year and saying “it’s better now”?

13 hours ago, Hatchers said:

How/why is the new front wheel spacer and axle mount better this year? Or is Yamaha just catching on to the marketing of ktm and changing wheel spacers every year and saying “it’s better now”?

I would recommend reading the reviews.  The pros can explain it better than most of us tt ers.  Keefer inc, trans world moto, racer x, moto action, vital mx, just to name a few.

• Like 1