Noob to jetting. Looking for guidance

I am very new to Jetting.  Last bike I owned I had an old flat track racer assist me and get it jetted but since I lived and rode in the same elevation I never really touched it from there.  Just picked up a new 2018 KTM 250 XCW and I want/Need to boost knowledge and understanding of the jetting process.  I also have some general questions.

1)  Is there a guide out there that goes into a little more detail about Carbs and how to jet them?  Most of  the ones I see are very generic and they say (increase jet as this changes or decrease jet as this changes) Im looking for one that says why you are doing it and what is happening.  Also looking for one that explains Needles and why riding style may dictate what needle/jet combo works better.  I don't even mind buying a book as long as its helpful and useful.

2) Do you change/tinker with jets if you know you are going to a new area?  I live and ride currently in the 4300' elevation range.  Local shop jetted the bike to the 5000'-7500' range for the 60F-80F temp range, for now I am pretending that this will be perfect for the sake of understanding..  If I am planning on going into the Idaho High country, say in the 8000-9000+ foot range do I need to Re jet for this? 

Similar, I want to make a trip down to Colorado and spend an extended weekend riding near Ouray, some of the roads there are peaking 11,000-13,000 feet  How do you jet or plan to ride this?  It would be pretty difficult for me to try and pretune the bike for the trip so do you just follow the manual, re jet it, then make notes how the bike ran so that in the future you can dial it in better?