rocco_

Do you think I should get a bike?

Sup thumpers,

I am debating hardcore whether or not to get a bike. If you're curious about which bike, I posted once already in 'What motorcycle should I buy?'. If this seems like a double post, my bad. Anyway, I'm torn right now, I have found a beautiful DRZ that looks in good condition, but just not sure if I should pull the plug. I know it will sell quick if I don't act now. I should have went and got my permit today but didn't realize how early the DMV closes.

My wife is kind of against the idea, as we want to have children soon. Does that make me selfish to want a bike? I am not a beginner on two wheels and believe I am a safe driver; should I not put my safety at risk? I know there are plenty of dads who ride two-wheels. I always loved riding dirt bikes and think this could be a good hobby for me, something to do to get away for awhile, even if it is a quick ride around town or through some back roads. I am currently in the whole 'adult' stage, if that makes sense. Wife, house, kids (very soon), bills, 9-5 job. My other hobbies have faded away over the years, maybe this will bring me the thrill I am looking for.

Someone convince me... or don't. I don't have anyone to ride with or anyone to really bounce this idea off of, but it doesn't hurt to hear what other people think.

Thanks,

Rocco

Posted (edited)

Life if dangerous. 

Motorcycling isn't really that dangerous, most of the risks can be moderated to a degree with gear and training.  The others IMO are no worse than the same risk you encounter getting up out of bed...

Often people have unreasonable fears and expect others to agree, my wife did that initially.  I told her that I'm not going to live my life based on her irrational fears. 

Discuss the risks, tell her how you're going to limit those risks.  Perhaps buy more/better life insurance to at least limit the fallout.