chadly

Pulling a camper at distance

I have a 2015 GM express passenger van.  3500 with 6.0l.  I also have a 2015 Keystone travel trailer that is about 7,000lbs fully loaded.  I’ve been pulling this setup for three years and feel very comfortable doing so.  I do use a weight transfer hitch.  Most of our camping is 3-4 hour drives with some at 6-7.  However I’m looking at doing a 13 hour one way trip late this summer.  I will have some elevation to deal with.  One thing about the van as opposed to the truck is the vans only have the option of 3.42 gearing as most the trucks I’ve seen are 4.10.  So I’m under powered compared to the trucks of the same set up.  I had the transmission fluid and filter changed at 50,000 miles.  It was darker than I would have guessed not terrible but I could see the discoloration.  Pulling the camper on this trip is going to save me about $200/day for a 14 day trip.  However if I burn up my transmission then all is lost and then some.  Am I just being over concerned or should I rethink this?  I’m well under the pulling capacity of the vehicle.  Thanks in advance.  Chad

Have you perused the towing sections of RV.net?

https://www.rv.net/forum/index.cfm/fuseaction/listings/forum/40.cfm

https://www.rv.net/forum/index.cfm/fuseaction/listings/forum/41.cfm

I went through similar research almost ten years ago when I had a Chevy Silverado 1500, 4.8L gas, 3.42 rear (& oversize tires making the equivalent of 3.08) towing a 6,000 lbs loaded toy hauler.  I could pull the trailer but the transmission would get hot so I added a big trans cooler to the truck.  But within a year I upgraded to a Chevy Silverado 2500HD, 6.0L gas, 4.10 rear because I wanted a bigger safety margin for other things like braking and a stiffer platform.