iamlanceallday

New member Custom 2006 DRZ400SM with PICS having some issues and could use your help!

Posted (edited)

Hey everyone! 

I'm new to Thumpertalk and found out about you through research on my first bike purchase ( 2006 Suzuki DRZ400SM ). My wife new I had been checking this one out for some time and got it for me. I am new to riding and a friend recommended I check out a supermoto as well. this was on my bucket list for a while ( learn to ride a motorcycle ). Anyways, she paid 2,500 for it. Tires are Battleax S20 hypersports, got them for a deal from a local shop in Orangeburg, SC. The reason I'm posting is when I was riding out to a friends house the other day I hopped on the freeway and went to the next exit about a mile away, the bike died on me and I could not restart it. I was in 4th and didn't notice I should've shifted 1 up, by that time I was getting off the exit. I wasn't in 4th for that long and not sure what I did. I know im a big newb but was wondering what are your recommendations? When I was pulled over the battery started dying once I tried to start it multiple times. Had fuel in it, drove it the day before no issues, and have been driving all summer with no hiccups ( starts up on first try as well, well did haha ). I had my wife grab me a new battery at the store and started draining that one as well while attempting to start. I never leave the lights on or kill switch engaged. The bike would began to start with battery and never turn over. I can here the exhaust ever so lightly but will not hold if that makes sense. All help would be gratefully appreciated!