madcap

1972 XL250 Restoration

I've had my XL since new and last rode it in 1995....doesn't seem that long but sadly it has been. I'm not an experienced mechanic but have some basic knowledge and used to do my own maintenance such as an XL250  required if anything. It's been sitting covered up in the garage way too long and I'm pulling it apart and trying to replace and repair what I can.

I know I'll need help and advice so hopefully some of you guys will be available to guide me through the process. 

Current details/state of restore:

1972 XL250 - All original no mods or upgrades

27,00 miles - mostly highway

Present state of restoration: all Wiring, Seat, Speedo,Tach, removed - basically down to frame except cables and wheels

Tank in in pretty good shape - slight dents - easily bondo'd -  paint is stripped now - in process of electrolysis to remove internal rust - have matched the paint and have new decals 

Need to paint frame - have self etching primer and semi gloss acrylic lacquer 

No clue on state off engine yet - still in frame

Factory service manual ordered

That's it for now  - hope it may spark some interest an support during the time it takes.

Thanks!

• Like 3

Pictures of your bike?

1972 I was a sophomore In high school and the xl250 motosport was my dream bike. I got to test drive a new one right out of the showroom and it was amazing to me. I was riding a 1968 Honda CL90 at the time as my daily driver.

I bought a clean, low mile one back in 2013, and I was underwhelmed at its performance. Having been riding modern motocross bikes since the late 70's has changed my opinion of what's amazing, bikewise. I still like the old bikes and collect a few of them.

Here's mine.

image.jpeg.a8829c0437fe85765b94c805963f3891.jpeg

Randy

• Like 6