Sign in to follow this  

Tore my ACL again

I tore my ACL and lateral meniscus during a Supermoto race in February 2017. I had it repaired in April 2017 using my patellar tendon for the graft. I was committed and good about therapy.

I started riding again in October 2017.

In February this year i was riding a sand trail and dabbed my foot as i was about to lowside in a turn. It wasn’t violent or anything, low speed and routine dab. My leg twisted i felt the pop and immediately knew i damaged something. I was wearing pod k8 knee braces. I walked away fine and pain/swelling was extremely minor. After 7 days all swelling was gone. The first tear my knee was swollen to the point where i couldn’t bend it or walk and was on crutches.

That was my last ride since i knew i damaged something, but thought it was just going to be my meniscus. Saw my Dr. again in June this year and with a quick Lachman test confirmed my graft was torn. MRI confirmed full ACL tear, re-tore lateral meniscus in the same spot, new tear in medial meniscus.

I just had surgery 2 weeks ago and had to use a cadaver since i already used my patellar tendon.

I’m at a loss trying to determine why my ACL tore so easily the 2nd time. The first time it was definitely warranted. Ruling out my surgeon as earlier this week my PT told me he does all ortho surgery for UCLA athletics and also is the surgeon for the Lakers. I knew he had a reputation, but he’s humble, so i had no idea I was paired with such a great doctor.

I’m even more committed to the healing process and therapy because i don’t want to do this a 3rd time or cause more issues down the road. I don’t have any interest in riding for at least 12 months while i work on therapy, but i want to continue with motocross and off roading next year.