Sign in to follow this  

How protective are foam/gel knee pads? Leatt 3df, EVS TP 199

hello guys, here's the thing: i currently have a pair of mobius x8 knee braces which i have been using for the last 3 years, protection wise i don;t think i can get anything better but my issue is how bulky they are, they rip off all my pants almost in the knee area and also they aren't the most comfortable.

that being said, now i am thinking of getting a pair of EVS TP 199 or even a Leatt 3df but my concern is if they would protect well enough if i have a crash at high speed.

i'm sure there are a lot of people that have been using them and i wanna hear your thoughts.

thanks

Leatt-Knee-and-Shin-Guard-3DF-Hybrid-Internal-Black-White-2017-5015400461.jpg

tp_knee_shin_pair_2000x.jpg

I've been wearing the EVS TP199 knee guards for almost two years now. They are my first pair of knee protection. My thought was not about money but about seeing guys tear their ACL's and go through other knee injuries with legit knee braces. I don't have any knee issues so I went with guards as they're a hell of a lot more comfortable and also offer good impact protection. I would definitely recommend these. I've crashed in them and landed directly on rocks with no issue. 

Make sure you read the sizing chart. If you order the wrong size you'll know when you rip the webbing in them.

• Like 1

thanks guys, very helpful

also you can wash them in the washing machine right?

i think i'm gonna go with the evs, they seem better designed

D4FD52CD-0004-4162-9822-4CD062A43BF6.thumb.jpeg.077a53c9a081ceb7ab389d41e918f38f.jpeg

Picked them up for something more comfortable and less bulky for riding Trials. 

Like them so much I’ve been wearing them for everything now. 

I tried some soft armor knee guards. I just couldn't get comfortable with the idea of slamming my knee into a pointy rock while wearing them. So I went to the Leatt Dual Axis which I've been happily wearing since 2013.