Meech86

110CC cuting out at high rpm

Hey guys,

I'm having a little problem with my bike. When I hit high rpm's my bike will start to cut out in the same way a car would be redlining (but in a much slower way of course). What I have done to try to fix this so far is play with my fuel screw, adjust my idle screw and brought the needle down a notch but the problem still persists.

I'm running a Mikuni VM22 26mm carb that I ordered on amazon and haven't made any adjustments to it internally since I thought it would be good to go since it was brand new. Am I wrong for assuming it was good to go? Should I open it up and adjust the float and jets? Are the jets inside the carb adjustable or do they just simply screw into place? I'm new to the bike world and carbs.

When I get home tonight I will clean my spark plug, drop the needle down to the last ring at the top of the needle (I'm one ring below the top at the moment) and see what kind of readings I get off the spark plug after a test run.

It's hard to tell if I'm running out of fuel or getting too much fuel or running out of spark but the bike starts with no issues and rides fine under normal load, it only cuts out like this at high rpm's.

Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mitch

Edited by Meech86

1 hour ago, CRF James said:

A new carb will usually have to be jetted and adjust unless you happen to get really lucky.

The carb you bought is most likely a Chinese clone of a Mikuni and may or may not accept genuine Mikuni jets.

Try this:

https://tboltusa.com/store/tech.php?pID=61/Simple+Guide+to+Jetting

Thank you for providing that link. So I guess there's a possibility that I need to buy some jets and swap them out?

I'll have to take a look at the float to see how it's set and go from there..  Lots to learn about these lol

Try lowering the clip on the needle, doing so raises the needle and richens the mixture in the mid to upper RPM range.