Chain Tightness & Loosness Questions

So, I've been riding for 3-4 years.  Ive had 4 different bikes, 3 being Dirt bikes, and, since day 1, I've never TRULY understood the proper tension of the chain.  I have always kept it on the loose side, but i know im too loose due to the sprocket wear.  Im just too afraid to go too tight, in fear of it damaging my trans. and also snapping and breaking me or my case.

I know the manuals all tell you to pull it or push it up and measure. But i dont really get those instructions, and when i do it that way, the chain feels way too tight once pressure/weight is put on the back shock. Feels real loose and good on its stand but real tight when weighed down.  And that makes me worry its too tight while im on it and riding.

I just got a new chain and have it on the tighter side, to allow some stretching but this worries me and im riding way softer and slower because of it.

My chain right now, has all kind of play up and down when on the stand and in neutral.  Enough that looks perfect.  But when i test its tension with my weight on it, and the swing arm moves up closer to the seat, it feels really tight.  Not so tight that it wont budge.  But tight enough that it doesnt have much play, and the play it does have feels strong.

So i guess, what im not understanding and asking is; should i be measuring from the stand or with weight on?  AND should it feel loose when on the stand and then be tight with weight on?

Basically, is loose (per 3 finger rule/measurements) while in neutral and no weight, good? But then significantly tighter with weight and pressure on rear shock, still good?

Or should it always be pretty loose and floppy.  Because loose while weight is added, always feels WAY too loose without the weight.