Hi all, new to the forum. Let me start by saying that I've researched the heck out of this topic with no luck. Went to my local dealer but the sales guy was not at all helpful in answering any of my questions. So, if there is already a thread out there on this topic please point me to it. 

I realize that these two bikes are totally different animals. The WR250 inspired by it's race proven MX counterpart whereas the CRF250F is essentially a replacement for the CRF230F.

I do not race or have any intention to do so. I really only ride on ATV trails with my friends and occasionally ride down fire roads. I'm in my twenties but don't ride that aggressively. I am not an expert rider but I am not a beginner. I started on a KX100, then went up to a TTR230. I got bored with that and bought a YZ250F. Not the best decision I've made. Partly my fault for not doing the research before getting it. The maintenance was a nightmare on it. I changed the oil religiously, air filter, kept a logbook with everything done to it and it still blew up once it hit 27 hours which seems really low but I don't know. Maybe I just had a bad one. I loved the reliability of my TTR230 and the YZ250F did not even come close. Now, for a disclaimer I did buy the bike used. It has 23 hours on it. Did the previous owner ride it hard and sell me a ticking time bomb? Yea, maybe. Upon researching the issue though after my bike blew up, I found it to be pretty common with the 250 four strokes to need lots and lots and lots of maintenance and even then, they can sill blow up or need top end rebuilds. Coming from my bullet proof 230, I was not a happy camper. But again, I should've done the research and known what I was getting into.