Learning to Relax Your Arms and Grip

I'm new to motocross and am trying to learn as much as I can as fast as I can.  When I'm not at the track I am reading or watching videos on different techniques, advice, etc.  One of the most common things I've seen is the importance of gripping with your knees and keeping a loose grip of the handle bars.  I try to be very conscientious of this when I'm riding.  I grip with my knees, but I'm having a hard time keeping my upper body loose and often notice that I'm holding the handlebars very tight.

Does anyone have any advice on how I can learn to keep my upper body loose?  Or any tricks that help make this technique feel more natural?

Normal. Time in the saddle will make a big difference, MX is not a natural thing for the body or mind!

and you grip with your legs more by standing on the balls of your feet and pointing your toes slightly inward so when your knees bend, your legs squeeze the bike automatically. 

• Like 3

32 minutes ago, Piney Woods said:

Normal. Time in the saddle will make a big difference, MX is not a natural thing for the body or mind!

Thanks, that's reassuring.  I just keep reading and seeing this as one of the most important fundamental riding techniques, so I'm eager to get it down!

3 minutes ago, burntvalves said:

and you grip with your legs more by standing on the balls of your feet and pointing your toes slightly inward so when your knees bend, your legs squeeze the bike automatically. 

Yep.  I have read this and seen it in videos.  I think I have this down pretty well.  Standing on the balls of my feet already feels natural.  Next time I'm on the track I'll try to pay more attention to my toes and making sure they are slightly inward.  

Thanks!