So i am in the market for a off road bike. I am new to off road riding but have road dirt bikes in the past and road bikes all my life. I am 6' tall 225lbs and i am looking between the yz250fx and the yz450fx or wr450f. I have never been on a 250 4stroke, didnt know if i would be happy. I will be riding trails in Michigan and trails through woods in ohio. Please give advice.

1st post, Welcome to the forums Flyguy!

If you read up a lot of past discussions, you'll find that even experienced dirt rider usually find a 450 simply 'too much bike' for trail riding.

Not only the power characteristic but the extra weight of one.

Don't let the engine size fool you, despite 'only' 250cc, these bikes put out close to 40HP which may not seem like

much compared to street bikes but, once you're out on the trail will still be quite a handful until you've gained off-road riding experience.

If no lights are required (although I find a headlight is an important safety feature on trails)

while they are comparable, the YZ250FX is a better choice as most WR250F are 'corked up' to meet EPA standards

and require some investment (muffler, ECU unit) to reach their full potential (same as the FX)

WR's can still be 'un-corked' and, in some regions are registerable as street legal dual-sports.

Edited by mlatour

In terms of Height either one is fine. I’m 6’2”, 185lbs and I’m on a 250FX and sometimes the seat feels tall, steep stuff and pivot turns mostly. Aside from that the bike is simply amazing.