Sailorwithabike99

1999 CR125R bogs down and won’t start again! HELP!

Hey everyone!

So I’m stuck in a bit of a dilemma and could really use all your help as I’m kinda new to dirt bikes.

So a few weeks ago I ran the bike too hard without letting it warm up properly and as a result, the piston over-expanded and got damaged. I educated myself and I finally finished rebuilding the engine and made sure everything’s to spec before putting it back together. Here’s where the problems start...

The bike wouldn’t start with the new piston. There is a nice blue spark and the spark plug was getting wet but barely. Slapped a new plug in there after putting a few drops of pre-mixed gas into the spark plug hole and it finally started in 1 kick. I hear cycled it perfectly and it ran very well. All things were going well...until I got to the 3rd gear. As soon as I switched into 3rd the engine bogged and died. At this point I kicked and kicked and it wouldn’t start. It also feels like it lost compression because of this, but after a few slow cranks the compression comes back. How would that even happen?!

I’m really stumped on this because I’ve done everything to spec and heat cycled it properly on a new top end so I really don’t know what could be wrong. Any help will help immensely. Thanks everyone!

First things first ,,     what is compression  ?   Have you looked into exaust port to inspect for damage ?   What have You done?     We have no easy answers here , just speculation  .....

6 minutes ago, bweighmaster said:

First things first ,,     what is compression  ?   Have you looked into exaust port to inspect for damage ?   What have You done?     We have no easy answers here , just speculation  .....