XR600R 1986 XR600R build

Figured I would do a write up on my recently purchased 1986 XR600R.  It's going to be a project but I have plenty of experience to do the full rebuild and between my two brothers I have access to quality welding equipment, shop with tools, mill, I do upholstery etc.  

Before I get into the bike itself, my end goal is to have a fun riding bike that will take me anywhere around town and down any dirt road and some actual off road riding.  I intend to do a lot of the mods or upgrades described on this site to make it more reliable, run cooler and simply funner to ride.  Plus I'm older and the bike is old school.  I thought that maybe by describing a lot of the mods in one thread that it would be sort of a gateway to help anyone else looking to find what them easier.  Some of the posts are older.

The engine was said to have had new gaskets and was in good condition and the electrical was hacked up.  When I looked at bike in person, the engine was put together and sitting in the bare frame w/swing arm attached.  Everything else was in boxes and most of the typical more expensive items were there and the forks looked straight.  The plastic had all been painted red and the frame had a new coat of black paint on it.  I could see gasket material between the head and cylinder as well as between the cylinder and gearbox (so thinking if I were to purchase it I would be doing a total tear down).  It was pretty clean and with everything that was included, I decided that for the $300 price tag, it was worth it even if I had to part it out to recoup my money.  I brought it home and tore it apart.

There were new gaskets put in the engine by the previous owner but the amount of gasket material used was insane.  The cam isn't in the best shape. The center journal on the head has some wear.  It will need some cleaning up and possibly some repair.  I’ve attached pictures of the engine, some more detailed to show condition.