pennsylvania “Instruction & supervision” PA Motorcycle Learner’s permiit

I’ve been riding with my son for about 5 years now at AOAA and FRO.  He started off on a CRf70 and he is currently riding a TTR125.  He has outgrown the TTR, but as he turns 16 next year he is talking about saving up for a dual sport bike that so he can keep riding at FRO but also something he could use on nice days to get back and forth from school/work. 

I understand he can get his learners permit at age 16, but must ride “only while under the instruction and supervision of a licensed motorcycle operator”.  After six months and 65 hours of supervised instruction, and completing a safety course, he can test for his full license.

My question is, what is “supervised instruction”?  Does the licensed motorcycle operator have to be physically present, riding alongside or beside him?

I have no answer for you. I bet that is just the car licensing text applied to motorcycles.

Sounds like he needs to ride FRO with you and a bunch of us, say 10 days at 6 hours a day.... can be done by mid-July

1 hour ago, pat22043 said:

I have no answer for you. I bet that is just the car licensing text applied to motorcycles.

Sounds like he needs to ride FRO with you and a bunch of us, say 10 days at 6 hours a day.... can be done by mid-July

That would be fun!  But it would have to be next year after he turns 16.  

Plus he has to save some $$$.  He just started his first part time job working at Dunkin Donuts.  He got his first paycheck, $155, and is already shopping KTM’s 😂

3 minutes ago, RDTH said:

That would be fun!  But it would have to be next year after he turns 16.  

Plus he has to save some $$$.  He just started his first part time job working at Dunkin Donuts.  He got his first paycheck, $155, and is already shopping KTM’s 😂

The rules say "over 12" which means he can get a permit and ride. See
https://readingoutdoors.com/policy-use-lands-and-park  #8