DRZ400SM convert to off-road wheels

Hi all

I’m new here and struggled to search etc. So apologies if going over old ground.

I have an opportunity of purchasing a 2008 SM at a good price but I’d like to have the option of switching to off road use. Used off-road wheels don’t seem to be that available. Are there options of fitting wheels from other models / makes of bike? I’m an engineer so can make spacers etc. Just trying to research easiest / most cost affective options.

Thanks in advance 

Edited by Pete Sprague

54 minutes ago, Pete Sprague said:

Hi all

I’m new here and struggled to search etc. So apologies if going over old ground.

I have an opportunity of purchasing a 2008 SM at a good price but I’d like to have the option of switching to off road use. Used off-road wheels don’t seem to be that available. Are there options of fitting wheels from other models / makes of bike? I’m an engineer so can make spacers etc. Just trying to research easiest / most cost affective options.

Thanks in advance 

Check out new KKE brand wheels on Ebay. Cost effective and bolt on.  Wheelset.jpg.ad48deeae97a93bd6776048ec796ff52.jpg20181101_020608188_iOS.thumb.jpg.d5f34350856371b41fcf4951495a061b.jpg20180808_051625368_iOS.jpg.e78f0b024780da56f36f64c55d667c12.jpg I used a set on my SM until I brought another off road DRZ.

Edited by roleyrev
  • Helpful 1

52 minutes ago, Pete Sprague said:

Hi all

Thanks in advance 

If you are close to jersey I’ll trade you.  new  wheels and tires no scratches or wear. They will bolt right up with your front rotor. Your speedometer will be off unless you change to S Speedo gear

3 hours ago, Rob Pietz said:

If you are close to jersey I’ll trade you.  new  wheels and tires no scratches or wear. They will bolt right up with your front rotor. Your speedometer will be off unless you change to S Speedo gear

SM rear rotor is bigger too

• Like 1