Hello, I recently got a 1978 yz250 from a swap meet in San Diego. The bike was $500 and is almost complete. I plan on going through the entire bike and mechanically restoring it but I want to make it my every day rider because I've fallen in love with vintage bikes. I usually ride a 2000 yz250 but it's just not cool to me. My question is, what all can I do to this bike to pull more power out of it while remaining reliable, and what chassis upgrades/mods can I do to make it perform better where I ride? (a motocross style track built in some trails by my house) I know it's never gonna outperform my newer bike but I just want to see how far I can take it while still keeping it vintage. I'm only 17 so go easy on me ? I'm new to this game. I know that I can port the cylinder and do head work as well as a pipe but what about boring the cylinder? Are there aftermarket reeds? What are some suspension swaps I can do? Any input would be greatly appreciated. I'll upload some pics as soon as I get the bike up here to Washington. Thanks!

For plastics and other parts DC Plastics is your source for cosmetics. Ebay might have a D.G pipe you can use. I wouldnt alter anything on the motor, except fresh boyseen reeds, pipe and muffler combo, maybe some jetting< tricky, and sprockets and chain for gearing changes. Keep it stock! Maybe a fresh suspension fluid and seal change. Dont waste your money on frivolous engine portings and millings, leave it stock and enjoy it for what it is...

• Like 2

Yeah...the stock engine is plenty fast...maybe, not as powerful as a modern YZ250, but neither is the chassis.

If it were mine, would split the cases for new crank bearings and crank seals. You'll be chasing jetting, otherwise.

Install a fresh top end with a hone or rebore...and gaskets. Probably a fresh clutch and cables.