Hyh Gyg

Hey guys i am new to dirt bikes and i just want your opinion

Hey guys i have never rode a dirt bike or a motorbike with clutch.I have rode in the past an automatic scooter 125 for maybe 3 times and an automatic suzuki 50cc landie for 3 times again.I don't have any experience with dirt bikes and clutch of motorcycles but i really want to get into it.What do you suggest me to do? I mean how to learn to ride? And what dirt bike to get? I have been checking the prices here for dirt bikes and for like yzf 250 and crf 250 of 2008 is like 2000 to 2500 euros.Do you think it will be worth it to get such an expensive one for first time? Any help is good.

Edited by Hyh Gyg

Start small. I’ve owned 85s, 125s, 250s, and it’s not the speed of the bike it’s the skill of the rider. I’d start out with a smaller honda xr/crf100f or crf150f depending on your budget. If you’d rather have a 2 stroke, seek out an 85 possibly with a big wheel setup (rm85l, cr85rb, kx100, etc) depending on your height. You can always sell the bike and make your money back once you gain the confidence to handle more power. 

Appears clutch control is your  biggest fear and hurdle to overcome. 

Depending on maturity level and body size,  I think you can easily start off on a 250 motocrosser, but a CRF 125  big wheel would be more ideal for a 4T

Plug in Maintenance factors of a used 250 motocrossing scoot you may get easily frustrated.

Small bored clutch controlled 4T from any of the big four is what you need to look for.

Also you can look for small bored big wheeled 2T's ... but you still need to be careful until you get used to power delivery. 

Do you have any friends that ride? It would be a difficult thing to do starting out without some help.