The Showdown: Metric vs. SAE? Cast your vote!

Metric or SAE?  

546 members have voted

1. 1. If you were king of the world and you had to pick the ONE system of measurement, what would it be?

• SAE. You skeered of fractions or something???
    • Metric. Get with the program 'Merica!

If you were king of the world and you had to pick the ONE system of measurement, what would it be: the metric or SAE? Vote in our poll so that we can see how the numbers stack up!

image.png

• Like 1
  • Haha 6

Are even Indians and Harley still SAE? All the Euro and Japanese bikes have always been metric. The entire car world has gone Metric, as has all of science. There is a modest case to be made for keeping SAE and fractions for carpentry, 2-by-4 and all that. Some say that cooking is easier with teaspoons and cups, but I don't buy it.

• Like 3
  • Helpful 3
  • Haha 1

27 minutes ago, motovita said:

Whitworth.

I've been riding for more than 50 years. When I first started, the old timers talked about the evils of Whitworth. Said old British bikes came with them. I was too poor at the time to think about Brit bikes, I had a Ace 90 Hodaka. I've heard the stories, but have never seen a real Whitworth bolt or wrench.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't Americans only use metric for ammunition and drugs? Lol.

I'm in the great white north, so it's all metric. Except at McDonalds and subway. 1/4 lb (with cheese of course), Foot long. Etc.

"I'd like a 113.5 gram burger.....hold the mustard please"

Or a "tenth of a kg burger"?

Doesn't have the same ring.

But yet we still say things like " 2 miles of ditch for every mile of highway!"

Edited by DirtySnowHusq
  • Like 4
  • Haha 8

I voted metric for pure practicality but the imperial system will always have a place in my heart. For some reason I just have an easier time visualizating with it...

• Like 3

9 minutes ago, DirtySnowHusq said: