Broken Wrist recovery questions.

Posted (edited)

I have a question regarding broken wrists and recovery.  Back on May 9th I fell and broke both wrists.  The left wrist was not displaced and actually I didn’t realize it was broken for a few days.  The right wrist was displaced and I had a displaced radius break.  The doctor said I split the tip of the radius.   He said surgery was needed and I had surgery on May 18th.  They installed a titanium plate on the radius bone.   I went home in a plaster splint.   On June 2nd. I had a follow up appointment and He wanted me in a cast above my elbow.   I was difficult and insisted on removable splint (110 degree summers).   It is now June 18th, 4 weeks  post surgery.  How delicate is this repair?   When can I start Physical Therapy.   I know these are questions my doctor should answer but he doesn’t seem to like my questions.   I am a mechanic by trade so use of my hands is important.  Also because of my trouble shooting background I require detailed cause and effect answers on why things are treated a certain way.   The curse of critical thinking.   
My questions are :

1.  How long until I can start to try and move my wrist?

2.  Will my wrist be as strong durability wise as it was before?

3.  I have pain in my left wrist when it moves inside the cast near the ulna.   I do not feel this is bone related.    How can I tell if I screwed up tendons?   

Thanks for the replies.  I know I am a difficult patient.   

0C57A45A-DDA9-4C83-A6BF-2F955627A2F2.jpeg

C4527A93-05F2-43DD-93F7-922C46F7D95A.jpeg

Edited by condor74