2001 YZ426 Clutch Assembly in a 2003 YZ450F?

Firstly, hola! First post, new rider, go easy please. 
Second, I have reviewed the service manuals, online diagrams from various sources as well as online parts catalogs for each of these bikes. 

I recently picked up a 2003 yz450f of unknown hours. It’s in fair shape but does not run or ride well. I’ll likely make a separate topic post regarding the running issues. The concern I’m trying to address here is the clutch. It shows ever issue possible. Dragging, no achievable free-play, neutral is impossible to find and it simply does not shift well. So, obviously I tore it apart. Now, this is my first full size bike. I’ve rebuilt my Chinese four stroke four wheeler and my 2018 Apollo 125cc. I’m also a certified master technician with a bit of time under my belt in automotive work. 

After I took the clutch apart I noticed several things that were odd to me. Granted, I have no background in bikes. The fiber discs, while obviously worn to an extend all measured at or above the factory spec of ~3mm. The steels, while slightly discolored, showed no warpage on a flat steel surface using a .1mm feeler. The major difference came when I looked in the bottom of the basket to find that it starts with a steel plate. Now, in my diagram this is not what it shows. And beneath this steel plate there are two bevel springs. Also not in my manual. After some research I find that my top pressure plate is for a yz426 judging by the casting mark. After reviewing the diagram for a yz426 clutch I find that it contains these two bevel springs where the yz450 does not.

Long story short: Is it a common mod to fit a 2001 yz426 clutch kit to a 2003 yz450f or did the previous owner make a mistake? 

Thanks!

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg