Sign in to follow this  

KLX300R fork seals

I had a good weekend going, soaking up suds :thumbsup:, put new TAG bars on, changed the oil and filter, then I noticed a ring of oil about ¾ of the way down on the forks. After compressing the forks it leaves an oil film and a ring at the bottom of the compression. I would assume I’m looking at a blown seal, but you know what that means when you assume :devil:. It usual means I'm going to pay a mechanic for something I suggested :awww:. I have no experience with a fork seals. What do you folks think, how much am I in for, and can I ride for a while with it the way it is? The bike is 4 months old with 150 miles on it. I haven’t jumped anything big, but I’m around 200lbs, which is supposed to be heavy for the stock springs. Thanks in advance for you input.

The fork tubes can get dinged. Usually laying it over in rocks and sliding backwards down a hill does the trick. Just a little ding can create a sharp edge and cut the seal enough to make it leak. No big deal, just find the ding and slowly/carefully sand it smooth with 400 grit sandpaper. Then of course you have to put in a new seal.

Installing a new seal is not that difficult, but forks usually do require a special tool. There is a socket way down inside that you have to hold, so that requires a tool. I usually make my own by welding a nut to a piece of tubing.

I am not sure what is meant by a blown seal. Can anyone explain? If you totally bottom out hard, what does this do to the seal? I guess if you had the forks too full of oil and bottomed out, it might push the seal out from where it is supposed to be, but it shouldnt ruin the seal. I have heard the term blown seal many times but I don't quite know what it means. Every time my seals have leaked, I had a ding or the bike was old and they just wore out from scraping dirt off the chrome 10 billion times.