Sign in to follow this  

Serious Wieght Reduction?

I started thinking about the small, incrimental weight savings the factories have been making, year by year. It brought to mind the HUGE weight savings the springless suspension, V-twin, and linkageless suspension allow. What if some guru put all of that together in an aluminum frame? Why hasn't somebody, already? Or have they? Are there more HUGE weight loss opportunities out there? I'm thinking you could dump about 20-25 lbs. Wouldn't that be a kick? Why don't the factories go BIG?

They use air as a spring by managing its compression. I'm no expert on it, but I've read about it before. If I remember correctly, they said it worked very well.

There is a YZ450F running that stuff in Europe. I read that the forks are 7#s lighter than standard. and the shock is like 4#s I believe lighter. That is actually a gigantic difference especially at those locations on the chassis. I would imagine that stuff is years off though from actual production.

Fox sold air shocks that were popular in the last 1980's. These were twin shocks, not a single one like today. Fox is again making air shocks today, for snowmobiles.

One of the dirt magazines recently had a linkless rear suspension on a CRF450, didn't read the test, just looked at the pictures.

Fox sold air shocks that were popular in the last 1980's. These were twin shocks, not a single one like today.

A slight correction; that was the late 70's. There were no twin-shock race bikes in the late 80's. (No mainstream ones, anyway).

The biggest problem I saw with these bikes was the inconsistent springing when the air heated up. Seems like nitrogen would address that, though.

But I believe they were air only, no oil damping. I was a teenager then, so I never got any real experience working on them. They fell out of favor for a reason, though. What those reasons were, I don't remember exactly. Probably better oil units came along, most likely the single-shocks.