Sign in to follow this  

What could cause a sudden no start?

I went to the track last night to train, and I kicked and kicked, but no babooom. The bike ran fine when I put it away a week ago. I've been riding this bike since October 2001, and it's NEVER done this. I'll be swapping out plugs and doing further inspection today, but if anyone has ideas on what could be wrong, I'd sure appreciate it.

Kill switch isn't stuck.

It's getting gas.

It has compression.

Air filter is clean.

Oils and filter are clean.

Top end has been redone once, and valves were adjusted, but it's been a while now.

I'll be inspecting spark first today...

I'll be the first:

Sounds like intake valves.

Could also be the decomp. adjustment. Let us know what you find.

I'll be the first:

Sounds like intake valves.

Could also be the decomp. adjustment. Let us know what you find.

Roger that....

Try bump starting it, I bet it fires....

Then you'll know its shim time, and you may as well think about what you want to do...because once they start to go... they go pretty quickly.

If it were me, id send the head to RHC when it was time... :thumbsup:

In order, I would:

- change the plug and verify spark

- check the intake valve clearance

- drain carb and put in fresh gas

- inspect carb for obvious problems

(I had the slide come loose on my YZF so it effectively "choked off" the air supply - fired right up when I reinstalled it)

- change CDI with a friends

- change carb with a friends

Ditto on the valves, Mine went from running great to "i won't start" in a 30 minute time period. I would bet money you have zero intake valve clerance.

I have just about got mine back together with new OEM Piston, Rings and RHC SS Intake valves and spring kit.

If this is what is wrong, there is really no use in re-shimming the intake valves, because thay are now deformed and sucking up into the valve seats and will continue to suck up further if you re-shim.