Sign in to follow this  

Thanks to TT and the YZ250F/WR250 Forum !!!

Hi,

I'm new to TT and I've been "lurking" on TT and the YZ250F/WR250 Forum in particular for about a month now, and I just want *THANK ALL OF THE CONTRIBUTORS* for the information I've been able to glean from this site.

I've been riding/racing 250 2-strokes for the past 25 years and recently became convicted that a 4-stroke was the direction I needed to go (read: sick of getting passed in sandy and wide open rutted sections). At the beginning of my quest for a new 4 stroke, I read all the hype about the Honda CRF250X and was swayed towards that bike. I even called KillerHiller about buying his, but he had already sold it and he suggested I might want to do a little more research before buying one.

Enter TT. I learned about the valve *issues* on the CRF's and read about its relative lack of high speed stability compared to the Yamaha, which jogged my memory back to the two CR250's I raced in the late 80's/early 90's: them boys were kinda twitchy at high speed. Granted I didn't have a Scott steering damper back then, but......

Anyway, I started reading the YZ250F/WR250 Forum. I looked really hard at the WR250F, but decided to go with an '04 YZ250F instead of the WR because I race HS and have a strong aversion to extra weight (my body weight doesn't count!!). I was fortunate enough to find a really nice used team bike at a local dealership with all kinds of *bling* on it. Another major plus, this bike is jetted perfectly!

In the last few weeks, I've searched the YZ250F/WR250 Forum and www.thumperfaq.com from one end to the other, and have found them to be EXTREMELY informative. Granted, on the forum, one must be able to discern between the *gurus* and the *yahoos* (present company excepted), but overall, THIS SITE ROCKS!!! Thanks for the help. This is a excellent bike!!

Thanks Again!