Sign in to follow this  

Helmet cam mic position?

I got a helmet cam last week from Viosport, since I live 2 miles from them. It has a built in microphone in the cable and I have it positioned on my back on the middle of my camelback. From 3rd gear up I either get wind noise or the sound cuts in and out. I thought this would be the most protected place for the mic but maybe I'm wrong. Maybe I should put it inside the pouch, it should still pick up the exhaust right.

I also experimented with camera location and right now I have it on the shoulder of my chest protector. This is a really cool spot because I can see the bars and fender and still see up the trail. Just did a little loop by my house, can't wait to get on some real trail this week.

Danceswithtrees,

I'm no expert, but I think that wraping the mic with open cell foam may help reduce the wind noise.

I'm hoping to get a DVD camera and helmet cam soon, so this is very interesting. :thumbsup:

Eric

Try taking some fairly thick cloth and zip typing it around the portion of the wire the mic's embedded in. The microphones everyone uses are real sensitive, it will still pick up exhaust noises. :thumbsup:

I have a helmetcamera.com Cam and agree'd the mic picks up everything and it is a little abnoxsios (SP). I have only used it 3 times but at the end started putting the mic in the camelback and that seemed to help but it still is too loud on playback. The heavy cloth coupled with putting it in the camelback sounds like the ticket.

I just got a used Helmetcam.com unit.

The previous owner had a neat set up.

He packed the mic in foam (closed cell) and used a plasic mount used for holding electrical conduit to the wall.

This mount then goes on the back of the helmet pointing down. This cuts wind noise, you can still hear your buddy (and can hear me talking to myself in the helmet) it is a little loud on the pipe angle but not too obnoxious..

Just a thought.