Sign in to follow this  

280 kit and BAD handling

I need your help....

I have been racing (GNCC) my 01F since Dec 2000. I know what the bike is supposed to feel like. At the start of this season I installed a Thumper 280 kit, along with hot cams and a Vortex ign and Dr D pipe,14th on front, stk rear. Now the same bike that I used to be able to "think" around a turn, won't turn to save my life!!! I have tried everything (clickers, sag, fork height, diffrent tank, diffrent valving both ends). Nothing I have tried even comes close. I am ready to trash the big bore kit and go back to stock. I really don't want to do this cause, in current form, this thing RIPS!!!

Please help....I'm getting tired of this bike slaming me to the ground.

Thanks,

Jeff

I have pretty much the same kit. I never noticed a problem, and I think it handled as good as my 04 25f which I just sold. Raise the forks 5mm, run 95mm sag, go back to 13 tooth in the front.

How can you run the stock gearing? When I run with the 13 on front I can't keep the front wheel on the ground. The motor trurns up so quick I am always on the rev limiter, even in 5th. The 280 wants more gear and can pull it with no problem.

I will try the stk gearing again this weekend, and see if that effects the handling in any way.

Thanks for the input,

Jeff

instead of 14/48 maybe try 13/45 or 44?

your motor mods really should NOT have affected handling in the ways you describe unless..... :thumbsup:

how much chain slack do you have and where are you measuring it?

I know this is probably a stupid question but... any chance your front axle is pinched from the last tire change? :thumbsup:

I too tried a 14t on the front and liked the gearing change but moving the rear wheel forward increases the traction and made it a stunt bike, now I have 13/50 or 49 and have good gearing and the front tire gets used now.