Sign in to follow this  

a new 05 450f or a second bike???

what do you guys think, trade up my one year old 450 for a new one , which will probably cost 2 grand, or buy a really good 125 two stoke for two grand and use that as my practice bike and save the crf for races. im a vet racer and i have my own track so i can ride almost every day. the thing is i dont feel comfortable riding a four stroke after a year old because of the high costs of breakdowns. i stuck two grand into a two year old yz250f just to keep it running ,what a waste of money. got none of that back of course on trade in. so back to the delema, i love the crf but practicing on it every day to keep in shape and racing weekends , i doubt it will make it another year with out costly repairs, also i got a lot of money in upgrades on the crf that i wont get back in resale.

You are going to practice on a 125 two stoke and race a 450 four stroke? That would be tough for me....

If you're able to ride everyday and can really only afford one bike, I'd switch back to a 250 2 smoke (or buy a Service Honda CR500AF).

I hear you regarding rebuilds etc. I only have time to ride/race once a week if I'm lucky. Hence, my CRF 450R has less than 25 hours on it after almost a year (it was a long, cold winter!). As long as I get to the gym or mountainbike regularly, I can miss a couple weeks and still feel competitive on the bike. I couldn't do that w/my 250 2 strokes (too hyper). In your case, being able to ride daily, you should be in good enough shape to ride the 2 stroke hard enough to compensate come race day. Additionally, you can rebuild it at least 3 times before you hit the $ on one 4 stroke rebuild.

Don't get me wrong, I love the 4 stroke. But, from an economical standpoint the 2 stroke is cheaper in the long run.

My 2c.