Sign in to follow this  

crf 250x rider looking at ktm.i need advice!!

i am tired of the problems with honda, my new 250x burns 200cc of oil every 75 miles..and the valves.... well lets not even go there..i race hare scrambles..very tight east coast stuff,i like 4 strokes they are easy to ride..i have looked at 400 exc and 450 exc can anyone shed some light on these bikes for me..i am a B rider,45 years old,165 lbs,thanks for any input..

I'm a C/B rider, about 170lbs. Trails, desert and woods, no racing. Before my 02 400 exc, I rode an xr400. I have no experience with the crf bikes, but have ridden the 525exc, wr450 and yzf250s, plus various XRs. My 400 is the ideal combination of power, handling and ergos for my riding style. It does everything well, but is arguably not the best in any category. By far, I appreciate the suspension the most. I often describe it as a light XR with an excellent suspension and better handling. Power is very smooth and linear, with no surprises or jolts. Much more across the RPM range than my xr400. More bottom end than the yzf250, but about the same from mid to top. Less power than the wr450 and 525 everywhere. If you want a light, flickable bike, the 400 is probably not your best choice. It isn't heavy at all, and it feels lighter than all the other bikes listed except the yzf, but it is no featherweight either. The 02 400 had the short stroke motor and I think the later years do as well. The 450 is a longer stroke and that is noticeable when riding. All I read suggests that the most noticeable change in the 400 since 2002 has been suspension upgrades. I'm going to ride mine till it literally falls apart.

Well if you don't live in CA get a 200EXC or 300EXC 2-stroke if you don't like vavles. 250 is good too, but the 200 is light and the 300 is easy to just chug around.

The fourstrokes all weight pretty much the same so I got the biggest one. The smaller ones feel lighter (so they say) but I like the grunt of the 525.