Sign in to follow this  

How many have NOT had valve problems?

I'm new to the CRF and just trying to get a feel for this problem. How many of you have not had problems and how many hours are on your bike? I've also heard talk that reducing the rev limiter to 9500 rpm will help with valve longevity. Does any one know how this is accomplished? I'm not the type who hits the rev limiter much. Except maybe panic revs. Kind of a short shift rider. Will this help me also? Just trying to see what I'm in for here. I came off of a 01' 426 and never had to touch the valves!

No problems here on an 04 w/ @ 120 hrs. :devil::thumbsup:

The rights are still on stock setting and the lefts are under .001, which is within spec.

I also short shift and 98% trailride; I hardly ever hit the rev limiter.

no problems here but i had erric gorr port the head and install KW valves and springs before i rode it. i did have to adjust one of the intake valves after ~20hrs but i was told that may be normal. no adjustments since.

No valve movement original 02 head and valves w/about 400 hours on it only had to adjust valves once in all that time and that was an exhaust that was slightly loose.At 400 hours installed 04 cylinder head and all new stock valves and springs now have over 575 hours on machine total ,175 on new head.I only installed the new head not because of valve recession but because everyone on this board is so freaked out over "the valve issue" that and I really wanted the smooth right side of the head w/o the hole for the manual decomp.cheers

No problems here. Bike is an 03' with desert and track riding done almost every weekend from October to April (So Cal winter riding) and still going strong. Wow, now that I've read what I typed, maybe I should check the valves. :thumbsup:

I bought a used 02 3 months ago. Previous owner didn't mention any valve issues, and didn't seem to know about the problems that so many have had. After reading the many postings I am a little paranoid.