Sign in to follow this  

XC or MX

I've been ridding street/track for many years, but have decided to put away the road machine (just sold my Honda 954RR), and get into the dirt. Trying to decide:

1. XC or MX (Off road or Motocross)

2. If MX, which bike.

I think a 250 would be good for me (185 lbs, and sorta "Old")

I doubt I would appreciate the difference in XC and MX for a while, but expect I would grow to appreciate the supension improvements on the MX over time. However, right now, the local dealer has $1000 off all dirt bikes, which means a new Yamaha TTR-250 could be had for $3400, versus the YZ-250F for $4700. (or Suzuki RMZ-250, or KX-250F for $4600)

So if I decide to bite the bullet and spend the extra money for the MX, any thought on Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki, or Honda? My 954 was agreat bike, so I do believe in Honda quality, but my guess is the others are good machines as well, and are 4 to 5 hundred dollars cheaper.

I'm sure this topic has been discussed before, but a quick search turned up nothing, so any comments (or links to previous posts) would be appreciated.

Thanks,

John

Find any year CRF 450 and I guarantee you will not be disappointed, ever or anywhere. The ultimate do it all bike. You can XR or TT on CRF but trying to MX on on one of these bikes will only leave you saying " I should have bought a CRF!!"

a mx bike only has better suspension for mx. if you are riding off-road/mixed terrain, an mx bike will have worse suspension for you than a good off-road bike. unfortunately, there aren't alot of good off-road bikes from the japanese mfrs, which is why i have a ktm. the crf450x has potential, but it looks like it will be as much of an overweight pig as the wr450 (which has pretty nice suspension, ihmo).

the mx 4-stroke 250's are going to be a big drain on your wallet and time in the long run. for some people that's worth it for racing 125 class mx. for me, i think they are silly bikes.

Hi John,