Sign in to follow this  

jumping crf450 vs yz250f?

I'm a beginner and had a crf450 with heavier flywheel weight. The bike was more than I could handle but never had a problem jumping with it. Pitch was very consistent and overcoming my fear and carryng more speed to the jump was all i needed to concentrate on to make the landing area.

I sold that bike and got a 04 yz250f, thinking it would be easier for me to control. I've only done about 5 laps on this bike but I can control the power better and corner speed is improved. But my problem is I can't control the pitch with this bike like I could on the 450. First few laps I went slow and front end was a little high and I basically wheelied down the back side of the jumps. I then got on it coming out of two corners with maybe a 30ft run at the jumps. First time front wheel was perpedicular to the ground and bailed the bike in mid air. Second time front wheel too high again and I landed in superman position over the back with WOT and I broke my collar bone. I now have a coupLe months off from riding to figure out how to jump with this bike. :devil:

I'm fairly certain I have the same riding position when I jump the 450 and 250f. So I'm wondering:

Due to ergonomics or bike weight differences, does the 250f require much more weight on the front than crf450? I stand in pretty neutral position at take-off. Need to be up over the bars on 250f?

Maybe flywheel weight is the difference and I'm not used to the more gradual power build and then hit I get on 250f, throwing my weight back at take-off? :thumbsup:

maybe play with the rebound..the kayaba which is the yami will handle different then the showa on the honda.. it will take u a while to get used to it. But if u get front wheel high hit your front brake but be careful it feels kind of weird and if u land crooked or locked up bam u be crashing again

with lower power of 250f, ya could be hitting the jump at higher rev or power, thus casuing nose high.