Northeastern Illinois Riding Opportunities and Other Questions

Hello everyone. I have a few questions regarding the availability for off-road excursions in Northeastern Illinois and the best bike to get.

I have over 20 years of riding experience with last 10 years or so concentrating almost exclusively on road racing. Last fall I got into a serious wreck and injuries at Road America and decided to give up the track and just ride on the street. Well, the street thing just not offering me the fix I came to expect from racing around various tracks in the area. Since the track time is getting pretty expensive I am seriously considering in getting into some kind of off-road riding.

This forum looks like the place to ask these questions.

I live just North of Chicago. How is the riding availability within 100 – 200 mile radius? I am not looking to race, but I am not against closed course riding. I know of Silver Lake in Michigan, Bong recreation area in Wisconsin (pretty lame). Any others? Given above parameters would you consider Chicagoland as a decent place to own a motocross bike?

Which bike to get? With all time I spent on the track I have never owned a serious off-road machine. I definitely want to buy a larger displacement 4 stroke. My tendency is to get a motocrosser such as CRF450R, RMZ450, or YZ450F. I know these bikes are serious track machines, but could they also if needed serve as a decent trail bike? The only bike that seems to bridge the gap nicely is the WR450F. Honda’s XR400R and Suzukis DR400E seem crude by comparison.

Thanks for helping a noob.

www.roadczar.com

?

Hey there newbie! I live in Oglesby, IL near Ottawa and it is a great place to have a bike ? My area is about an hour or so from you (maybe a little longer) and there are a lot of places for us to ride. Byron, Walnut, Mt. Carrol, Ottawa just to name a few.