Sign in to follow this  

WANTED: Tips for a first time YZ250F rider!

:devil: Guess I'm going the right way now, after a bad hole shot. Hi...I'm a newbie, but not a rider. Just the dad on the sideline giving the thumbs up as the 'dirtrooster' jams down the straight stretch. My son has been riding a YZ80 for the past two and a half years, but has outgrown that bike. He is stepping up to a new 04 YZ250F (5 valve) Would like to hear from any of you riders of 250Fs with some tech. tips, and riding techniques you think would help him get down with this new bike. He will be racing MX this coming weekend for the first time with it. Only riding he's done on it thus far, is breaking it in around the backyard. All tips would be greatly appreciated. :thumbsup:

Tip #1 Set the jetting

Tip #2 get the suspension set for his weight.

Tip #3 get a better exhaust. Dr. D is a favorite with a lot.

Tip #4 change the rear sprocket for the area you are riding.

Tip #5 go back to thumperfaq and read everything except the 2 smoke page. :thumbsup:.

Tip #5 go back to thumperfaq and read everything except the 2 smoke page. :devil:.

I didn't know Rick is supporting 2-smokes on "thumperfaq"?! I didn't see a link for 2-smokes :thumbsup:

:thumbsup: Okay, Rider....thanks for those tips. But can't fiddle with any of that stuff until after warranty runs out in 30 days. My main concern, however, was what he should expect in the handling. Guess he'll just have to get out there during practice Saturday and bruise his body a few times, and learn the "does & don'ts" by "trial & error" :devil: Hopefully, he'll get through it without any broken bones!

Tip #5 go back to thumperfaq and read everything except the 2 smoke page. :thumbsup:.

I didn't know Rick is supporting 2-smokes on "thumperfaq"?! I didn't see a link for 2-smokes :devil:

yep, I didnt realize he had switched either. :awww:

go to sitemap, and click the 2004 yz250f link.

Get a new chain and handlebars as soon as possible. :thumbsup: