Sign in to follow this  

CRF manual cam chain tensioner picture

A new CRF manual cam chain tesioner was shown at the 2004 Intermot Euro Motorcycle show. Eric Gorr was over there shooting pictures and I figured you guys might want to see this. I left the pic really big for details sake so I didn't link it direct. It's here : http://ericgorr.com/images/Intermot/i59.jpg

I don't have my notes handy but I'll get more info on this and post it.

I just put up about 85 other pictures from the show on Eric's site if you guys are interested. There is some cool stuff you won't see in MXA :cry:

Why?

Is it better than automatic? :cry:

The automatic tensioners have the unfortunate habit of retracting at high speed. If this happens, catostrophic engine damage usually follows.

glad to see it coming to the crf.ive been using them for several years inlcuding the last few years on the drz.

simple,usually cheap and super effective. :cry:

Wow....looks just like the one on my 1971 CL100II.....

Timeless engineering I guess :cry:

It's nice to see the aftermarket addressing the issue, even if it isn't an American company. I'm sure others will follow suit at some point. Ibt's pretty logical to have manual as an option. As Burned pointed out , it's not like we haven't been doing it on drag race four cylinders and other engines forever.

if your serious about engine reliabilty,manual is the only way to fly.im suprised its taken this long for them to come along for the crf.ive been putting a "slug" in the stock unit for a couple years now.

A.P.E. unit

DSCF0009.JPG

bitech unit

DSCF0002.JPG

yes,i ordered all the suzuki manual tensioners a couple years ago to test fit them all.the busa one is the unit that fit.

now all the packages say they fit drz as well.

early drz tensioners were pure junk.the updated it 4 times. :cry: