Muddiest MX ever?? - Can you spot Hannah??

Edited Note: Original print scans were replaced with the negative scans.

I attended the TransAMA race in St. Peters MO in 1977. I was also at Unadilla in 1987 at the MXDN. Both were very wet but there was no comparison as to which was the biggest mudder. Can you name the riders and their brand of bike? I had enough trouble while I was standing there although these should be fairly easy, except for one. Good Luck!!

BTW I was a photographer for a local midwest racing newspaper at the time. We used a monobath process to quickly print B&W photos. Using a monobath process meant the prints were not fixed and therefore were not permanent. Most of the pictures I have left from this era are fading away and are very brown looking. Thank God I have the negatives but my scanner doesn't have the ability to scan negatives so what you see has been heavily processed by Picture It!.

St.jpg

StPeters772.jpg

StPeters773.jpg

StPeters774.jpg

StPeters775.jpg

Hmmm,,, ?

I go with

1) Marty Tripes, team honda OOps- tripes is on his "Built to Go". that means the other picture probalby isn't Pomroy either? Help!

2) Jimmy Ellis, team Can-Am

3) This is the one I don't know about, how about Jim Pomroy on the left and Danny Laporte main photo? ?

4) Bob Hannah, Team Yamaha

5) Buck Murphy, Team Can-Am

Cool picks, unreal deep mud, you should take your negetives to a wolf photo shop and save 'em before its too late. Awsome. ?

The old newspaper was printed on cheap paper with a high acid content. The issues I have left are about as brown and low contrast as the prints and starting to crumble. I will have to see if I have the issue concerning this race. I am at work right now and will do a search later. I will post the real idenities later today and the results if I can find them. I do know the winner but if I tell you the winner now it will give away one of the riders pictured, which you are incorrect on. ?

So far: