Sign in to follow this  

05 WR 250 perform like a YZ 250???

I am going to get a 05' something, coming off a 01' KTM 400 exc. I rode a CRF 250 and loved it!! However I am going to buy a Yamaha for obvious reasons. Bike is going to be a playbike/trailbike. Instead of hopping up a yz should I get a wr and hop it up??? Can you make a WR run like a YZ with no harm to the bike?? I would like the electric start, bigger gas tank, kickstand. But I loved the CRF with no weight!! I just dont know what to do. Anyone have any ideas??

im not too good with the wr's/yzf's but from what i read theyre pretty similiar, just the wr's have a flywheel weight. just have a place shave off the flywheel and you have pretty much a yzf with wr accessories

Obviously rip all the enduro lights etc of and replace with YZ number plate and YZ rear gaurd. Do grey wire mod from this forum. Change cam to YZ cam. Flywheel in WR is heavier, you can change it but for trail I wouldnt. Change pipe to YZ or better aftermarket like Dr D etc. Open the airbox with 2 * 50mm holes on RH side (this may already be done on 05 not sure). The Wr has a wider ratio gearbox which you can slightly with a larger rear sprocket and smaller front plus run a lower profile tyre like say 18 / 100/90 or 18 100/80 if avail, but you probably wont want to do this as it reduces top end speed for road sections The WR also has a larger capacity tank which is wider. If you change to YZ tank you also have to change your shrouds.

Note theres differing opinions on this bit but if you really want some stick when its time to do a piston, go for a wiesco +0.75 compression ratio piston. And if you ever need cyclinder work go for a 280 big bore kit and +0.75 compression piston.

The differing opinions are whether or not the bottom end is capable of handling this sort of top end.