Sign in to follow this  

liquid cooled versus air cooled

Depends how often you fall / crash. The rads are an extra piece to break and are vulnerable. The liquid cooled engines have a little higher power output too and need a little more maintenance to keep them in prime condition.

Unless you're racing..... I'd say the 250X does not require significantly more upkeep than the XR, and the extra fun and ZIP the 250X has to offer far outweighs that extra effort. :cry:

Those radiators are a liability, yup. Sometimes those radiator shrouds want to reach out and shake hands with trees and shrubs, but if you put on some high quality guards like what Rooster Performance sells your chances of being stranded will be greatly reduced. :cry:

I'm no expert, but I did spend the night at a Holiday Inn Express last night. :cry:

Thanks for the info. I think I am going to stick with a used xr250 or 400 for now. I would love a 250x but $6000 vs. a good $2500 to $3500 used bike is just to much of a difference. Maybe I could upgrade to a 250x or 450x used in two years. :cry:

I avoided liquid cooled bikes in general for fear of the damaged radiator. I have now turned my opinion on them around 180 degrees.

True, the radiators do get bent. I have bent mine twice in the past three years. They have not bent bad enough to have them fixed, but they are bent. I will probably spend the 70.00 this year and have Mylars fix them.

Having said that, I woudl have a tough time buying another air cooled bike. The water cooling lets the engine be reliable in a high state of tune. Two strokes were a real pain in the butt during the late 70's. They figured out how to make lots of power, but you almost felt bad riding a bike with a new top end because you could feel it wear out.They switched to the coated cylinders about that time as well. If all goes as planned, the cylinders will last almost forever.