Sign in to follow this  

Buying a used bike, what to look for?

I am a dirtbike rookie and after reading through a bunch of posts here, I have decided that I am after an '01-'03 YZF 250, with the '03 being a prime suspect. Given that I have never bought a bike before in my life, what are some things I need to watch out for? I read about checking the VIN number for sure. I guess you can also tell if it has been ridden a bunch by looking at the paint wear on the frame above the pegs, but what are some other areas I need to be concerned about? Mainly, I am pretty freaked out that I am going to get a maintenance nightmare and it will keep me from learning the sport. I realize I am asking for that by buying used, but so be it. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Wrooster had an excellent post last year about looking at used bikes. Several good ideas were presented there, so try a search.

You should also have the current owner explain how the oil is changed. He should be able to do it standing on his head if he did if frequently. Also check to see how clean the oil and air filter are. Ask him when the last time he greased the swing arm and steering stem. What type of grease did he use? How is it jetted? Ask as many detailed questions as you can, and make sure you get detailed answers. If he glosses over of can't answer, move on to another bike.

Wow Wrooster, that is some excellent information!! I appreciate you pointing me in the right direction. I am not in the market just quite yet, as I still have some second thoughts about getting into the sport, mainly maintenance related and the expense of all the gear associated with owning a bike. However, reading through threads here getting a feel for things does no harm so I will continue researching! Thanks again, very helpful!!