Sign in to follow this  

boots (footwear not forkwear)

I'd post this on a gear thread, except there isn't any. And since I just got a KLX, figured I'd post it here. I need to get a good pair of boots. I've notice some of the 2004's are on 'special'. I was thinking of sidi vortex (not the evo vortex...out of my price range). For sale at 190$. What does everyone like and think. As far as boots go, I'm a novice. Actually, I'm kind of a novice at all this stuff. Anyway...thanks.

Brad

Go to your local shops and try on several different brands. Keep in mind you get what you pay for, but you can also save a lot of money by setteling for something in the middle of the road. I have a pair of Fox Forma Comp boots that were on sale when I bought them and I've been very happy with them. In my opinion, if you stay between $150 - $200 you can find a decent pair of boots. You'll want something that you can wear without being uncomfortable. :cry:

I tried on a lot of different boots and settled on the Alpinestars Tech 6. They felt as good as the Tech 8 to me and were considerably cheaper. A good way to save $ is to try on several pairs from different mfr's at the shop, find out what feels good - then look for the best online deal. :cry:

Do not cheap out on boots. Especially if you're a novice, your feet are going to take a lot of abuse. Find a good quality boot that fits you well. I wouldn't worry too much about comfort when you try them on - they will all feel terrible. A lot of people like the Fox Forma's, but I hated mine. They felt like new every time I put them on, but were almost OK by the end of the day. Now I've got Alpinestar Tech 6's and love them. Try on as many as your local store has before you make up your mind.

Thanks for the help. Sounds like sampling some at the local shop, then checking around for the best deal is the way to go. Maybe the locals will cut me break, since it is nearly october, and there's not much use for dirtbike boots in the winter here.