Sign in to follow this  

Oil Messup

Ok guys heres the deal. I have an 02 WR426 that takes oil in the frame up by the handlebars. My brother just bought a 03 WR250. I told him that I would check the oil and put some in if it needed it. So I check the dipstick on his(by the gastank) and it was low. So I put the oil in where the dipstick is. Feeling like a retard and looking down and seeing that their is an oil fill on the engine unlike mine I think I messed up. Now am I ok on this one or did I screw it up. I havent started the bike at all cause I just did it a few min ago. :cry:

Ok my next question is, is there seperate oil resevoirs? One for the frame, and one for the crankcase? I see you have drain plugs for the frame, and crankcase. I am totally new to this and feel like such an ametur now. I guess my main question is will it matter if I poured oil in the frame oil check like a dumba#@?

If you only put in a little oil, start the bike run it for 5 min, shut off, let sit for 5 min, check oil. But if you put in alot of oil (like over a 1/4 quart), you could blow a gasket.

The oil all goes to and comes from the same place. All resevoirs (sp) are connected. Putting oil in at the dipstick will eventually drain into the case.

a 1/4 qt. too much wont do anything to it. the design is very forgiving.

the best way to resolve it, is to empty all the oil out and refill with the correct amount.

"Ok my next question is, is there seperate oil resevoirs?"

A dry sump system like either the old or new YZFs stores oil in a tank (the Frame). A feed pump draws it down, pumps it out to the bearings, cams, trans (in the case of a Yamaha), etc. A Scavenge, or Return pump picks it up from the crankcase after it drains back there and sends it back to the tank.

The "retard" is the engineer who thought it was a good idea to put the oil fill on the crankcase so that when you do an oil change, you get to start your bike with a dry oil tank. :cry: