Sign in to follow this  

arm pump

Hey I've know this has probable alraedy been touched over and over again, but what I've been riding for about 10 years and I now only get out once a week off rode. I"m getting some pretty good arm pump within the first half an hour of the ride. Are there any exersies that I should be doing or even things that I should be practicing while riding on the road?

Get some spring-loaded hand squeezer excersizers from wal-mart and do that in your spare time. It has helped me immensely. The best way, imho, is to grip the bike mostly with your legs, though.

The best thing you can do is to ride more but I know most of us can't ride everyday. Besides using the the hand gripper thingy which works good try gripping a tennis ball squeeze and hold for a few minutes untill it pumps up. Squeezing and holding is sopposed to work beter than squeezing and relising a bunch of times, i don't know why it just does. Also try to grip the bars a little lighter, somtimes when people ride they tense up and have a death grip on the bars. I run a full diamond grip which have a smaller diameter and helped cut down on arm pump. Renthal makes some. If your bars vibrate alot that can make armpump alot worse. If your bars are vibarating switch to aluminum bars you can also get an anti-vibration bar insert from fasst company basically its just weight. I hope this helps :cry:. I used to get arm pump all the time, its not fun.

Coincidentally, we were just talking about this in the MX Techniques forum. Here's my post from there. :cry:

Try a TT search in the MX Techniques forum on the following words (using the AND option)

open hands